’21 Things I Wish I’d Known Before I Started Writing’

7. But be vigilant about being a jerk. We all make mistakes – but it’s also frighteningly easy to become a taker, a user, a self-absorbed neurotic wreck, and not even know that’s what you’ve become. Don’t be too hard on yourself, but don’t assume you haven’t fallen into bad-colleague practices either.

This item in particular spoke to me out of Robin Black‘s list of 21 things she wishes she’d known before she started writing. Given my own propensity toward jerkiness, I’m always a bit pained when I see the tendency play out (or maybe I should say flare up) in others. Here’s hoping I can avoid it from here on out.

Check out the whole list and let me know which ones speak to you.

2 comments on “’21 Things I Wish I’d Known Before I Started Writing’

  1. Jeffrey Howe says:

    “Nothing that you write is pointless, useless, or unnecessary. The product requires the process.”

    From abandoned drafts to sentences erased from the screen before the e-ink can dry.

  2. Mark L (UK) says:

    ‘Publication doesn’t make you a writer. Publication makes you a published writer. Writing makes you a writer.’

    Very, very reassuring.

Leave a Reply

